Friday, July 30, 2010

A guest blog posted over @lockergnome.com

In doing some research on the intertubes about Reuters Thomson and it's use of "controlled experiment with Attributor to identify websites" This site came up with an interesting article titled "Why Bloomberg & Reuters Are Superior To AP" The premise came down to "Neither Bloomberg nor Reuters is supporting AP nor are they attacking the bloggers of the world. As of this moment, both are respecting fair use."

http://www.lockergnome.com/blade/2008/06/18/why-bloomberg-reuters-are-superior-to-ap/

If this was the case in 2008 it is no longer the position of Reuters in 2010 as the President of Media at Reuters Thomson admited on a blog that they were engaged in a "controlled experiment with Attributor to identify websites"

So what did they do once they ID'd these, not just websites, they are going after blogs ( btw this blog has Reuters' content.) and forums like http://GodLikeProductions.com and many others that have not been able to fight back.

Against what. Well here is a sample of the notice from the ReutersAttacks.blogspot.com as given to GodLikeProductions.com.

"I certify under penalty of perjury, that I am an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner of the intellectual property rights and that the information contained in this notice is accurate.

I have a good faith belief that the page or material listed below is not authorized by law for use by the individual(s) associated with the identified page listed below or their agents and therefore infringes the copyright owner's rights.

I HAVE A GOOD FAITH BELIEF THAT ADVERTISING ON THE INFRINGING PAGES/MATERIAL IDENTIFIED BELOW IS DELIVERED BY YOUR SERVICE AND I HEREBY DEMAND THAT YOU ACT EXPEDITIOUSLY TO REMOVE OR DISABLE SUCH ADVERTISING."

Clearly they are not worried about the intergerty of Fairuse. This is simply put~ Copyright Trolling and it is attacking one of our basic rights as Americans. Fair Use is Free Speech. Plain and simple are the rules and this gambit by Reuters's is one of the worst abuses of a law. They are gaming the system to make you pay them.

If you own/run/manage any thing online that could have third parties posting any content according to Trinity at GodlikeProductions "YOU NEED TO REGISTER YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION with the United States Copyright Office ASAP! I have made a copy of the form required here: http://www.godlikeproductions.com/DesignationofAgent.PDF

As well we need to band together to get the attention of our Elected officials Local State and Federal and those in agencies like FTC, DOJ and Commerce and ask them to take a stand and back the citizen right to Fairuse.


We are blogging about this on fairuseisfreespeech.blogspot.com and twitter @fairusefreespch


Fairuse is Free Speech.

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Let's talk about Fair Use.

“quotation of excerpts in a review or criticism for purposes of illustration or comment; quotation of short passages in a scholarly or technical work, for illustration or clarification of the author’s observations; use in a parody of some of the content of the work parodied; summary of an address or article, with brief quotations, in a news report; reproduction by a library of a portion of a work to replace part of a damaged copy; reproduction by a teacher or student of a small part of a work to illustrate a lesson; reproduction of a work in legislative or judicial proceedings or reports; incidental and fortuitous reproduction, in a newsreel or broadcast, of a work located in the scene of an event being reported.”


U.S. Copyright Office
101 Independence Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20559-6000
(202) 707-300

A funny FairIE tale.

What is Reuters Attacks

This from the Head Huncho at Reuters

Recently, we engaged in a controlled experiment with Attributor to identify websites that republish complete or near complete versions of Reuters articles and have a commercial model, without a license or agreement. In many cases those websites utilize third party ad networks to monetize their audiences. Some question why we object to websites posting full copies of our stories without a licensing agreement. The answer is simple – we believe it is neither fair nor legal nor ethical link to blogs.reuters.com


So this controlled experiment entailed the use of a third part to go after websites that allow users to post and reply to each other. Often times these users will post information that is from another party. When this is the case as long as it is in the certain limitations found in sections 107 through 118 of the copyright law (title 17, U. S. Code) this should not even be an issues.

Not so fast so Reuters................

fairshare@attributor.com to adsense-dmca-notifications@google.com

Dear Sir/Madam,

I certify under penalty of perjury, that I am an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner of the intellectual property rights and that the information contained in this notice is accurate.

I have a good faith belief that the page or material listed below is not authorized by law for use by the individual(s) associated with the identified page listed below or their agents and therefore infringes the copyright owner's rights.

I HAVE A GOOD FAITH BELIEF THAT ADVERTISING ON THE INFRINGING PAGES/MATERIAL IDENTIFIED BELOW IS DELIVERED BY YOUR SERVICE AND I HEREBY DEMAND THAT YOU ACT EXPEDITIOUSLY TO REMOVE OR DISABLE SUCH ADVERTISING.

This notice is sent pursuant to the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), the European Union's Directive on the Harmonisation of Certain Aspects of Copyright and Related Rights in the Information Society (2001/29/EC), and/or other laws and regulations relevant in European Union member states or other jurisdictions.

Note that in some cases the pages/material may have been removed after the sending of this notice but prior to your review.

My contact information is as follows:

Organization name: Attributor Corporation as agent for Reuters
Email: fairshare@attributor.com
Phone: 650.306.9474
Mailing address:
1775 Woodside Road, Suite 100
Redwood City, CA 94061

INFRINGING PAGES/MATERIAL WHERE ADVERTISING SHOULD BE REMOVED OR DISABLED:

Found on GodlikeProductions.com a website that is under on of these reuters attacks